About Poetomachia: A literary battle.

Poetomachia ( a quarrel about nature and function of poetic and theoretical writing).

Thomas dekker termed it postomachia. Result of a ban on satirical writing called bishops ban of 1599. Ben Jonson on 1 side and John marston and thomas dekker along with Thomas Middleton on the other.

In Histeriomastix or the player whipped – Marston satirised Jonson.1599 ; Chrisoganus’s Pride is satirized.

Jonson responded to Marston in Every man out of his humour .1599 . Marston’s Wordy style is satirized.

Marston responded to Ben in Jack Drums Entertainment.1600. Brabant senior, presented as a cuckold.

In Cynthia’s revels or the fountain of self love., Jonson satirises both Marston and Dekker.1600 ; Hedon as  Marston; a light voluptuous reveller and ; Anaides as Dekker. – a strange arrogant puff, are made part of the satire.

Marston attacked Jonson in What you will.1601

Jonson responded with the Poetaster.1601 committing bombast.

Dekker completed the battle with Satiromastix or the untrue ssinf of the humorous poet. 1601 ; Horace is satirized as an arrogant hypocrite.

Even after all this, Ben Johnson, Marston and Chapman collaborated for Eastward hoe 1605. Which offended King James for it’s anti-Scottish satire.

 For more similar pages subscribe to fairycrush,  stay educated and keep learning….

Published by striped

I am from India and that does not define my identity. yet I chose to begin with this because you believe in boundaries... I am a freelancer and content writer. My niche is technical writing and research. if you like my work appreciate me by subscribing and liking my blog posts. If you want me to do a project for you then DM and I will get back to you right there. regards and love for all.

Leave a comment